top of page

Finding Your Inner Bella - How to be Pitch Perfect

Damn those kids are good in the film Pitch Perfect! However they lost it didn't they? The singing was taken over by gimmicks, gymnastics and razzamataz! So how about getting back to basics and finding your inner Bella - how to be Pitch Perfect!

There is nothing better than going along to see a film full of singing! Mamma Mia, Walking on sunshine, Disney Films... oh come on I bet you sing along too right? Tonight I managed a trip to the cinema with my daughter and friends to see Pitch Perfect 2. I wasn't disappointed. Apart from it being incredibly funny (and oops a bit rude!) the songs always blow me away and more than anything I wanted to jump up and sing along.

I loved the message in this film though. The Bella's became National Champions in the last film and at the top of their game where could they go? Only down. The Bella's lost their thing, the thing that made them great and basically that was getting back to basics with just great harmonies. Best bit for me was the battle of the A Cappella groups - I would love to be able to just start singing and suddenly there are harmonies, a bass line, drum beats etc all done just happening vocally on the spot - I have to tell you that would be amazing! Anyhow the chances of that are highly unlikely as singing in a group like that, takes practice and timing! There are, however, very simple songs that can achieve great harmonies so that anyone can sing them and that's what I love, just simple singing. I am definitely pinching the hand clapping routine at the end though!

I know there are lots and lots of you singing out there - secretly wanting to be a Bella - and maybe you just haven't quite plucked up the courage to get yourself a long to a group because that's the hardest part isn't it? What if I'm rubbish or I sing the wrong note? What if no-one talks to me? What if its too hard and I can't do it? I really can't spare the time! I would love to be in a group like that but I can't sing! There are so many reasons why you shouldn't go along to a group but there are plenty of reasons to go too.

2020 Update! During the Covid 19 pandemic many online singing groups have popped up. This is a great time to get singing if you are afraid of going along to a group. Joining online means you can sing however no one else can hear you and it is from the comfort of your own home! Build up your confidence in knowing a few songs and how the group operates and find what is right for you.

You could try these online sessions by Think Cre8tive Group CIC on their Sing It Out! Virtual Choir channel

Mel x

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page